The Economic Society of Singapore (ESS) is a non-profit organisation of economists and other professionals interested in economics. ESS brings together members of the economics profession in academia, the government and business sectors and provides a platform for discussions on issues facing the Singapore economy and the region. The primary objective of the Society is to raise public awareness, and stimulate public interest and debate, in economic issues. It does this by organizing conferences, talks, workshops and public lectures and by conducting studies on issues, either on its own or in partnership with other organizations.


The Economic Society of Singapore (ESS), formerly the Malayan Economic Society, was established on July 28, 1956 as a result of the initiative of graduates and some members of the staff of the Department of Economics of the then University of Malaya in Singapore.

On March 28, 1969, the Society changed its name from the Malayan Economic Society to the Economic Society of Singapore, in keeping with the independent and sovereign status of the Republic.

The objectives of ESS are:

  • To raise public awareness on Economic issues and to stimulate public interest in Economics
  • To encourage discussion on Economic problems with special reference to Singapore
  • To issue a journal and other special publications

    Since 1976, the Society has been one of the founding members of the Federation of Asean Economic Associations (FAEA).

    The Society also published a journal, the Malayan Economic Review (MER), which was later renamed the "Singapore Economic Review" (SER) in 1969.

    The membership base has increased over the years. The types of membership have also expanded. In 1973, the status of Honorary Fellowship of the Society was conferred for the first time, on Dr Goh Keng Swee and Professor You Poh Seng. In 1979, the third Honorary Fellowship was conferred upon on Emeritus Professor Lim Chong Yah.

    In 2006, ESS is proud to be able to confer upon Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, the Honorary Fellowship of the Society, in recognition for his outstanding stewardship.

    In 2010, the Honorary Fellowship was conferred upon Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam.

    In keeping with the objectives of the Society, the Society initiated and engaged in a series of activities to foster and stimulate economic discussion over the years.

    These include:

    • Annual Dinners
    • Essay Competition
    • Annual Junior College Seminar
    • Singapore Economic Policy Forum
    • Gold Medal Awards for outstanding graduates in Economics
    • Talks & Public lectures by eminent economists
    • Educational Seminars
    • Federation of ASEAN Economic Associations (FAEA)
    • Study Tours

  • Current Euston Quah
    2002-2009 Khor Hoe Ee
    1999- 2002 Augustine Tan
    1996-1998 Basant Kapur
    1991-1996 Teh Kok Peng
    1978-1991 Lim Chong Yah
    1976-1977 You Poh Seng
    1973-1975 Lim Chong Yah
    1971-1972 You Poh Seng
    1970 Howe Yoon Chong
      1968-1969 Pang Tee Pow
      1966-1967 Lee Keng Tuan
    1961-1965 Lim Tay Boh
    1960 Ungku Abdul Aziz
    1958-1959 Lim Tay Boh
      1956- 1957 Thomas Henry Silcock

    Copyright © The Economic Society of Singapore (ESS)